Rice is governed by a self-perpetuating Board of Trustees that serves without compensation. The university's bylaws provide for up to 25 board members, all of whom are trustees with equal voting rights. Under Rice's charter, a majority of the trustees must reside in Texas, and at least four must reside in the Greater Houston area. New trustees are elected by the board to four-year terms, subject to an age 72 retirement requirement. The university president also serves as ex-officio member of the board.

Much of the board's work is conducted through the following standing committees: Academic Affairs, Audit, Buildings and Grounds, Campaign Cabinet, Compensation and Organizational Development, External Relations, Finance, Information Technology, Rice Management Company and Trustees. In addition, the bylaws provide for an Executive Committee, which may exercise most of the powers of the full board between board meetings, except powers delegated to other board committees.

The university is administered by the president, who is appointed by the board. The president has general control and supervision over all university matters - educational, financial and administrative - subject to annual budgets approved by the board. With board approval, the president appoints other academic and administrative officers and determines their powers and duties.


Visit the Office of the President for more information about University Governance, University Officers, and more.